Posted by: arrogantscientist | January 7, 2009

Another Type of Non-fly

I’ve been planning to put up a post containing some nice Drosophila pictures, and explaining about balancer chromosomes – one of the reasons they’re such a great genetic system to work with, but haven’t been able to yet. The microscope I use to take pictures in the lab is currently not working well enough to take good quality pictures. We’re playing with a couple of different lighting systems, and the one that’s currently hooked up results in too much light being reflected off the white CO2 pad to get a clear picture of anything on it. I did overcome this slightly using a glass observation dish, which produces a mostly non-reflective background in a variety of colours, but as CO2 does not pass through glass (last time I checked, anyway) it can’t be used with anything that needs anaesthetising.

So I thought I’d stick up some more spider pictures for now. I don’t know what this spider is, but it’s roughly 3x the size of the zebra spiders below and is frankly too big to photograph (can’t zoom out far enough). But here are some pictures of it’s eyes.

Actually looks like these are two different spiders, possibly of the same species. I thought I’d only taken pictures of one of these, but apparently not, as the hairs on the head are different in the first two pictures (eye colour is a trick of the light):

spider3-4

tub0015-11

Another shot of the top one after the break…

spider3-3

I should be able to get the pictures I need in the next few days and should be able to make a post about something I actually know a little about on the weekend.

Responses

  1. Are these specimens you’re photographing ones you’ve found in the lab or are they bought in? If they’re just living under the benches, I’m afraid, now that I’ve seen them close up, that I’d be looking out of the corner of my eye all the time!

    Any chance of some really ugly looking bugs..bed mites? Scabies?

  2. One of these above I found in the lab, as it scuttled past knocking over glassware etc. The other went for me on the train, but I was able to subdue it.

    Bed mites and Scabies mites are a possibility in theory, but I’d rather not have access to either, if you get my drift 😉

    I’m going to try to find some more outdoor living specimens when I can, pickings are slim at the moment though, being winter. It’s a safe bet the majority will be ugly…


Leave a Reply

Categories

